Drift

Drift

$35.00 Sale Save

1 left online, email/call to check in-store stock

For fans of THE LAMPLIGHTERS and EXIT WEST, the hauntingly atmospheric English-language debut from the acclaimed, multi-award-winning Welsh author: a mesmerising love story between a young Welsh woman and a Syrian mapmaker.

'A tender, unusual and gorgeously wrought love story that weaves the magic of folklore, the wonder of the sea, and the depths of human cruelty. It moves between the worlds it inhabits like the finest piece of driftwood.' RACHEL JOYCE

Nefyn has always been an enigma, even to her brother Joseph with whom she lives in a small cottage above a blustery cove.

Hamza is a Syrian mapmaker, incarcerated in a military base a few miles up the coast.

A violent storm will bring these two lost souls together - but other forces will soon try to tear them apart...

Moving between the wild Welsh coast and war-torn Syria, Drift is a love story with a difference, a hypnotic tale of lost identity, the quest for home and the wondrous resilience of the human spirit.

ISBN: 9780857527875
Publisher:
Penguin
Publication date:
16 August 2022
Format:
Hardback
Pages: 240