The Italian Daughter

The Italian Daughter

$37.00 Sale Save

2 left online, email/call to check in-store stock

An epic, sweeping love story about a young woman discovering a secret history passed down from her Grandmother. The Italian Daughter is a romantic, heartbreaking novel about lost loves, family secrets and enduring hop

"Estee, I bought this ring the day after I saw you on stage at La Scala, all those years ago. You're the only woman I've ever loved." Estee wanted to see it so badly, but instead she reached for Felix's hand and gently closed it over the box. "No," she whispered. "I want you to propose only when you're truly free."

When Lily is called to a lawyer's office in London, she has no idea that her life is about to change forever. There, she is told that her grandmother was born at Hope House, a home for unmarried mothers, and is given a box containing the only clues to her true heritage. Peeling back the delicate layers of paper she finds an Italian recipe and a theatre programme.

Travelling to Italy and taking a job on a vineyard, Lily is determined to unravel the mystery of her past. The vineyard owners, in particular their charming son Antonio, offer to help. They tell Lily that the recipe belongs to the wealthy Rossi family, known for their famous bakeries which opened after the Second World War. Antonio offers to drive Lily to the Rossis' village and deep down, Lily is delighted to have him as her guide.

When Lily arrives and shows the recipe to the surviving members of the family, it is clear that she has unearthed a tragic love story: of a young girl named Estee and a boy named Felix. Of a childhood friendship which developed into a passionate love affair. Of a family torn apart by wealth and of two young people who were prepared to sacrifice everything for love.

But when Lily finds out the truth about her family and who she really is, will she too be able to follow her heart?

An utterly enchanting and heartbreaking novel about lost loves, family secrets and enduring hope. Perfect for fans of Lucinda Riley, Santa Montefiore and Victoria Hislop.

ISBN: 9781408728758
Publisher:
Little, Brown Book Group
Publication date:
10/01/2023
Format:
Paperback
Pages: 320