The Island of Mists and Miracles

$38.00 Sale Save

Item is in stock Only 0 left in stock None online, check in-store Item is unavailable

From the author of the international bestseller, The Mad Women's Ball, a hugely atmospheric novel for fans of Elizabeth Strout and Annie E Proulx.

Sometimes the truth lies in the things you cannot see.

In 1830 a young novice called Catherine Labouré was granted a vision of the Virgin Mary. Nearly 200 years later, Sister Anne is also waiting for a sign. Which is why she accepts a mission to go to a tiny community on an island just off the coast of Brittany. Her only companion there is a sceptical, chain-smoking older nun who just wants to be left in peace.

On the island she meets Hugo, the son of a devout family who prefers to look for the meaning of life amid the stars; Madenn, a grandmother whose daughter was killed in a crash and who finds meaning in routine; Isaac, Madenn's grandson, an otherworldly teenager who doesn't fit in but who befriends Hugo, and Julia, a sickly child. If anyone needs a miracle, it is her.

But it is not Sister Anne who receives a vision. Instead it is Isaac who is found on a promontary, transfixed, unable to utter more than the words 'I see'. The event soon becomes headline news and the world descends on the small island, opening old wounds and unleashing a chain of events none of them could have foreseen.

No reviews

ISBN: 9780857529374
Publisher:
Doubleday
Publication date:
12 March 2024
Format:
Trade Paperback
Pages: 224